Ouch!

You know, I thought I would come into this post about my HSG talking about fear and how I let my fear get the best of me, with some little drabble about how it wasn’t nearly as bad as I expected. Fear was going to be the theme of the post and I had written it out in my head before even getting into the radiology suite. BUT…I’m calling bullshit. That hurt so, so bad! It was probably the worst pain I have EVER felt in my life and I cursed and cried the whole time. It has taken me over a week to post this because of how different my experience was compared to my expectations.

They had trouble getting the catheter in so they had to use the balloon, which probably didn’t help with the pain. My doctor said that my tubes were clear but one of them was quite dilated and spilled about 10x as much as the other. So there’s that. My doctor didn’t seem too terribly concerned but she pointed it out.

Sorry to scare anyone who may be getting one soon but it was no cake walk for me. Right now it’s hard to find a good lesson to take away from this, some spark of light, some positive note to end on. The best I can say is that I survived, I’m strong, I’m proud of myself for getting through it, and I’m proud of any of you out there that have been through the same or similar procedure. This journey has made me both mentally and physically stronger, and I know I’ll look back one day, with a baby in my arms, and think about how it was all worth it. But for now, ouch!

One comment

  1. Lavonne @ *Our Wish* · January 19, 2016

    Sorry to hear it was so painful. I had on in 2008 and don’t remember too much about mine but it may just be all the painful things since then just make it seem less painful now when I think back to it. My RE wants me to have another one in a couple weeks and ugh – I’m not looking forward to it. The things we do for a miracle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

